The Lights of October make me Nostalgic

This is my first time contributing to WordPress The Daily Post and I’ve embarked with the weekly Photo Challenges theme Nostalgia.

dsc06693
October is the month of lights

For full size picture: Check this link out.

Living in Calcutta is an unthinkable experience and cannot be described in mere words. Most of the year, it’s the hot sultry city where it rains for four months, foiling outdoor plans & cricket matches at Eden Gardens, but come October, the explosion of festivals one after the other is something everyone looks forward to. This picture has been taken on 30th September, the last day of our (Calcutta Medical) college fest, Rhapsody. Location: 88, College Street. This day, and this image overflowing with lights, herald the beginning of the festive month October in Bengal.

Every year, with friends and family, I throw myself into the festive joyride from Rhapsody, and then continue through Durga Puja, Laxmi Puja, Kalipuja, Diwali, Bhai fota. Especially during the Durga Puja, starting from Choturthi (4th day of Devi Paksha on the Bengali Lunar Calendar) we walk through the streets, pandal hopping from one to next, reliving the fun and frolic over and over again, till Dashami (10th day). Bengalis breathe for this season. Bengalis breathe for this month of lights. It brings millions of memories to us, which we shift through, recalling the enjoyment, euphoria, arguement, adda, relationships, love, like, hate and every other emotion in existence.

This year, we didn’t have to wait long. Since the college fest was arranged at a later period, the day when Rhapsody ended was the day Devi Paksha began with Mahalaya (1st day) and the recital of Mahishasuramardini on AM Radio. Once there’s a beginning, there’s an end, or so they say. But I look at it differently. Like every year, after it all ends, I’ll wait for next October to come spring on us with potential to make new memories and new experiences.

I’m nostalgic even now. I’ve loved, argued, gossiped, planned and prepared every second of this month, and now writing on WordPress is another wonderful addition to remember. Our streets will be filled with decorative lights and festoons, announcing the coming of the best days of the year. I’m proud to belong here in Calcutta, to be a Bengali. And I equally love to remember every bit of this season which has made me what I am today. Thank you.

18 thoughts on “The Lights of October make me Nostalgic

  1. That photo made me nostalgic too. 🙂 I visited Calcutta in 2010 during Durga Puja. Ekadela I guess is the name of a famous pandal. I almost got lost in the crowd too.😂😂😂 My friends and I went pandal hopping till 3 in the morning 😊😊

    Liked by 1 person

    1. Pandal hopping among the lights is one fun outing with friends and family 😀 Worth once in a lifetime, and many people refuse to go out of Calcutta during Durga Puja (I’m neither for nor against this 😛 ). I’m glad you had lots of fun. Ekdalia pandal is just beside my school, South Point. So it was our backyard, you can say 🙂 The attraction of Ekdalia is the pretty chandelier they bring each year.

      Liked by 1 person

      1. I know.. the crowd!! I have never seen a crowd like that before. I never knew it was 1 in the morning, it was that crowded! We almost got mobbed too at some place, we went by car. And we were stuck in the crowd. People started banging the car 😂😂 and I was staring at them, until my friend said, don’t look at them you chagol, they are shouting at you.😂😂😂😂😂

        Liked by 1 person

      2. Haha 😛 word of advice, never take a car while pandal hopping, you face tons of problems from the police and the mob, unless you are cruising the whole city. And I know, the crowd is maddening, it’s quite easy to get lost. The long queues in front of each pandal, the pushing and shoving, everything is a part of the Calcutta experience during the Pujas.

        Liked by 1 person

      3. We went as judges. My friend’s dad knee the then mayor of Calcutta so we went to judge pandals, we were provided with a car. It was fun though, misti doi and rosogulla was my breakfast lunch and dinner 😀😀

        Liked by 1 person

      4. Yes it was. In one pandal, if I am not mistaken, it was organised by bsnl housing colony, there was this cute little girl dressed as a princess. We clicked photos with her, they have us rosogullas and juice. It was fun 🙂
        Haha, I am not used to eating food cooked using mustard oil. Nor I eat fish. My friend’s place had elish-mach for lunch and dinner everyday. They cooked chicken curry (without oil) and rice for me. ☺☺ So desserts formed a main part of my meal. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      5. Yes. 🙂 I lost all photos though. I had clicked a lot of them. I did not take a backup and my system crashed! 😞

        Liked by 1 person

      6. Very true 🙂 ever since then, I keep two backups of my photos.😂😂
        I have never been to that part of India, I should plan a trip. Even Calcutta, it was just home or pandal. A lot to see in Calcutta isn’t it. May be some day, I get to visit it again. 🙂

        Liked by 1 person

      7. There is a lot to visit here 🙂 and Puri, along with Orissa is a very nice place with organized Government tourism. When you visit either of them, let me know 🙂 I’ll bombard you with tips!
        PS: 2 backups? I guess it’s best to be over prepared than under prepared 😀

        Like

      8. Haha. May be we can even meet. 😄 I think a lot. 🤐🤐 Being extra careful is better isn’t it. If my backup crashes, I ll atleast have another copy of it.😉😉

        Liked by 1 person

Leave a Reply

